to not know

It’s been interesting to see people’s reactions when I tell them we are not finding out the baby’s sex in three weeks at our next appointment.  The following are some of the replies I’ve received:

-Nice! That’s the way it SHOULD be (not finding out the sex).

-You are poetic (this is what someone said, really) and therefore I figured you would do it this way (not find out the sex).

-I figured you for a planner.  You know, it’s going to be a surprise on delivery day no matter what you know beforehand (not a fan of me not finding out).

-It kind of does matter about the pinks and the blues when you don’t find out the sex.  (Said by same person above.)

-Really? You’re not going to find out? I wouldn’t be able to wait.

-Awww.  That’s nice (about not finding out the sex).

Lately it seems that the responses have been in favor of us finding out.  Especially my co-worker who said the “I figured you were a planner” bit.

The thing is, I can see the pro’s to finding out, I can, but I think that the delivery day–outside of scary, painful and (shudder) who knows what, is going to be amazing.

Amazing. 

And I think to have the birth be untainted by gender-specific colors and expecations–to have a birth pure and free of this need to know ahead of time stuff–I just want a surprise.  And above all, I just want a healthy baby.

We heard the heartbeat for the first time today.  It was like a bunch of horses galavanting around, galloping.  It was a fast rhythm. 

It is a life.

Up next, a belly shot!

Love,

itsy bitsy mama

7 thoughts on “to not know

  1. i can’t wait to see your belly shot! i’ll email you one of mine. :)

    i think it’s great you aren’t finding out. i don’t think we are going to either.

    here’s to healthy babies. (clinking of glasses filled with club soda and lime — no wine for a while :( )

  2. Ooh, I can’t wait for the belly shot! And I also think it’s fantastic that you’re waiting to find out. What a wonderful surprise!

  3. Yay, Itsy! I’m so excited for you and your husband. I don’t know if I’ll be able to wait to find out what I’m having but it’s such a personal decision. Don’t let anyone make you doubt your decision.

  4. I have always thought that it is truly one of the only real surprises in life – but I’m not sure I’d be able to wait because I am so impatient when it comes to exciting things like this. I think it’s awesome though – we will all anxiously await the news with you! :)

  5. Yay belly shot! I’m with you– I don’t want to find out. I think one of the most amazing moments in life will be the first time the doctor’s put my baby in my arms.

    But I’m going to guess you’re having a girl.

Leave a Reply

