a letter

One of my many pregnancy-related emails said that a good activity for this week is to write an open letter to baby.  I’ve decided that since I abandoned my journal a long time ago, that this was the next best place to write it. 

Dear sweet baby,

Mommy is getting used to talking to you when you kick (or punch as I like to call it).  I feel the need to talk to you whenever you make yourself known down there.  Well, you’ve been known to me for a while.  My belly button is on its way out and I’ve dressed you up in lovely maternity clothes, I swear. 

True, I’ve been uncomfortable here and there, but it’s not your fault.  You’re trying to grow and spread your wings.

I imagine what the day will be like when I meet you.  I’m pretty sure I’ll cry.  I know what my first words to you will be.  Something about love and something about protecting you for the rest of my life.

I imagine us taking walks and soaking up the sunshine.  I think to what will come when you grow up.  Will you look more like your father or act more like me?

I want you to be a happy baby.  I want you to tell me when you’re down so I can erase all bad feelings.

I’m scared to death to be a good mommy.  I’ve already acted this out by being stressed about everything I eat which is everything you eat.  I just want to teach you that although the world is messed up in spots, that it’s really a place that you can come to embrace in your own way.

We’ll give you a good beginning with tons of love.  Your father is so excited for your arrival.  I know he just can’t wait to get his hands on you and give you a squeeze and a big kiss.

Me? Well, I’ve had a bit more fun.  You’re in my tummy reminding me that you’re doing your thing and not to forget it!

Baby, just tell me–are you a boy or girl? Daddy and I are trying to pick out a good name for you and it’s proven to be a difficult task.

See you soon.

Lots of love,

mommy

8 thoughts on “a letter

  1. This is so adorable. Will it be weird when I start talking to your belly when I see you at LA or B’s wedding?

Leave a Reply

