baby spree

I went on a bit of a shopping spree this morning which Bub does not really know about yet.  He knows about one thing I bought…but I don’t think he understands that I got a little crazy.

You see, this thing keeps happening to me at around 3ish a.m. more and more mornings: I wake up to pee, crave OJ, and then…no more feeling sleepy.

And that sort of sucks.  Because at 3? What do you do? I’m not a big fan of late night t.v. (or way early morning t.v.) and reading is something I prefer to do at night before bed.  I’m one of those people who will “stick it out” if I can’t fall asleep unlike Bub who will get up and spend a good chunk of time watching a movie only to come to bed for a little while and then wake up unrested the next morning. 

I’m not a fan.

But this morning was different.  I woke up around 3:45 a.m.  I peed, had OJ, laid in bed for an hour.  Got up and proceeded to get online until about 8 a.m.  And, as you all now know, I was shopping.

For baby.

Yup.  Who did you think I was shopping for, myself? New clothes to fit a bigger-than-ever belly? A 36-weeks-today-belly? A 4-weeks-away-from-my-due-date-belly? Riiiight.

I got cloth diapers which I only got 2 of since I’ve read that some daycares are mandated not to allow them.  I have yet to find out if ours does.  That’s right; I amthisclose to securing a spot for baby at a daycare.  Hopefully it won’t be for more than 3-4 days.  But that’s another story–and something to be determined once I know what my work schedule is.

So cloth diapers.  Not sure how I feel yet about them.  They’ll either be a pain in the ass (no pun intended) with a big mess to follow and loads of laundry to do (that should be expected anyway, I suppose) or, they’ll work great just like most of the reviews say they do online…I’m jumping partway onto this save the environment bandwagon considering how much waste disposables produce, but that’s not saying I didn’t buy me some Swaddlers for the little one to start out with.

I also purchased some parenting books–not too many since a number of lovely publishing partners from work sent me free ones.  I got a parenting DVD–more on soothing your newborn than on parenting; something that came highly recommended to us.

And I got the ever important playpen and sheet to go with it in case it gets soiled.  Did you know there is really no such thing as a “playpen” anymore? It’s called a play yard.  I mean, I guess that sounds more “fun”… I was thisclose to buying an over the top nightlight.  I had to take it easy.  I passed on it.  For now.

Did I mention that last night we went shopping for baby, too? In, like, an actual store? I told Bub today I was getting a little sick of the yellows and greens, especially for clothes.  Not that I don’t love what we have, I do! But I want to know if I can go full-fledge on the blues or pinks! We just have to wait and see, now don’t we!

One thought on “baby spree

  1. Online shopping is WAY too easy. I’m not sure how I feel about cloth diapers either. Probably helps since I don’t have a baby. Either way, I’d be curious to hear how they work out for you.

Leave a Reply

