sooo…yeah

7 days.  I might have a baby.  I might not.  I might have one tomorrow.  Who knows.  All I know is I’m acting like it won’t come early.  In fact, I think I’ll be late–or even induced.  I’ve started thinking about my ideal situation for the birth, and here’s what I’ve got:

No C-Section.  Whether I’m taking meds or not, I want to push this baby out.  It’s the way a mama was supposed to do it and I want to experience it that way.  If I have a C-Section of course I’ll be delighted as long as my baby is delivered safely and is healthy, but I just want a vaginal birth.  That’s it.  If I have to have a C-Section because my labor stops I will get angry, I’m pretty sure of it.  I can get very impatient and will think I’m going to have wasted all that energy only to go into surgery.  I guess we’ll see.  You get what you get, right?

I bet I’ll have an epidural.  I’m a wimp.  Step on my toe, pinch me hard, pull my hair? Forget it. I will yelp.  I will swear.  Some bad cramps can hit you–especially in your calves–when you are pregnant.  Something about blood circulation? Anyway, I am a wimp.  I will scream murder to make it stop.  Oh, and I’m afraid of bees.  So there.  If you want me to push a baby out without drugs? Not sure I can imagine it, let alone do it.

I’m pumping myself up to nurse.  I tend to get discouraged easily.  I know it will be difficult.  But I want to do it.  Bub supports me.  My goal is to do this through the first 3 months at least.  I hope I can make it the first day and week, let alone month! I hope those classes I took help me!

So those are a few things I have thought about.  But I’m a pessimist and I believe that when I say one thing, the other will happen (or is that being superstitious?).  So perhaps I’ll have a C-Section, feed with formula, and go natural.  Well, I’m pretty sure the natural thing won’t happen.  Again, we shall see.

In other baby news (because outside of all things baby, my life has ceased), our carseat was already recalled.  Yup.  The car seat we so happily put in the backseat, hounded the police to inspect to make sure we put it in correctly (7 out of 10 people don’t install them properly) has an issue.  The base LATCH straps have a defect.  This would happen now.  Right after we installed the cute little mirror, complete with a remote control light to check on the baby during a car ride since it will, of course, be rear facing, and aligned it with the seat (which took longer than one might think).  It’s okay though.  We’re using the seatbelt method for now until they send a new base. But the inpsection thing? We have to do it over. Boo.

And for those of you who didn’t know, Bub has been adamant about doing a mural in the nursery.  If we did it, we’d have to do it this weekend.  Ahem.  That means painting.  Oy vey.  But anyway, we are going to start with one animal and work our way up.  We borrowed an overhead projector (remember those things?) and everything.

The baby’s room is where I want to live.  It’s, like, so much cooler as it is than our room.

Have a good weekend!

3 thoughts on “sooo…yeah

  1. I am the same way (pessimist/superstitious) and it drives me crazy because I end up mixing my feelings all up.

    I hope you have an easy labor and a beautiful healthy baby. As far as the other stuff goes…you will do what is right for you and the baby and that is all that matters. Just remember that.

    The mural sounds so cool, I want pics when you’re done!

  2. You are going to do great…I’m with you on the c-section thing. My current mantra is just to stay positive. Also, I’m betting nursing is going to come easier than you think! :)

Leave a Reply

