i get by with a little help from my hommus

Hello.  Still here.  I haven’t been a good blogger, I know.  Honestly I haven’t known how to put the past couple of weeks into words.  There has been work and more work.  Illness (me and Bub, not Ian, thank God).  Daycare.  Exhaustion.  There have been many healthy meals or no eating whatsoever.  And there has been hommus. 

With carrots.

With flaxseed crackers.

With Reduced Fat Cape Cod Potato Chips.

Oh, and plain ol’ avocado, too.

I’m five pounds under my pre-pregnancy weight and I already worry what will happen when I consume bread again.

I just learned I was eating icky pasta when my regular pasta of choice (Barilla, if you must know), is conducive to the milk, eggs, nuts, and soy-free diet I have been on for a month come Friday.

It’s the little things. 

But enough about that boring stuff, and onto my little man.  My Mr. Ian.

He is getting so big.  And it wasn’t apparent to me how fast he’s grown until I met my friend’s eight-week old daughter yesterday. 

She is a peanut.  So tiny.  I was shocked, and yet?

Ian was that small at one time.  And in a couple of weeks he’ll be four months old.

I always say the time is flying.  And it’s unoriginal and a given.  But to see it like this.  Wow.

Because we’ve been so busy with stomach bugs and Ian’s christening and life in general, our house is semi-Christmased and we’re finally going to get our tree tonight.  I can hardly believe Santa comes in a week.  I must vacuum before he gets here and well, get so much in order.

This Christmas we’re home instead of heading to MD.  And I feel like a mean wife sort of.  We trade off on holidays between MA and MD, MD being where Bub’s family is at.  But this year–ever since last year–I’ve wanted to host Christmas.  And in our house.  Since we moved a mere week–or less?–before Christmas last year we were hardly in shape to host anyone.  I have always wanted people to come to us, celebrate with us in our home.  And now we’re ready for this.  Except Bub’s family isn’t traveling.  I think it’s okay since we just saw them fairly recently, but I feel that next year and years after as Ian grows up that I will still want for people to travel to us so that he may love his tree and gifts at home, where we’ll start, and hopefully continue, traditions long after this Christmas of 2008.  But for now I’m going to enjoy that we’re home for this one.  Yes, this year, home is where my heart is.

With my family.

picture-0391

3 thoughts on “i get by with a little help from my hommus

  1. What a cutie!

    I know what you mean about having no time to do anything — I have become the very essence of a working mom — doing laundry at 6a while I eat breakfast and Bennett is still sleeping. ;)

    I also want Bennett to have Christmas morning at our house. And I have no problem going to my inlaws AFTER that, but not before. We’ll see if I win this one this year.

  2. Congrats at the 5 pounds under. I still have 10 to go. It’s tough, I used to work out a lot before I was prego, now I can hardly find the time but I’m trying to not make that an excuse and I’m also trying to watch what I eat so I don’t have to rely on working out so much!

    I enjoy your blog, I’ve been reading for awhile but it always takes me awhile to comment, but then you found my blog. :)

    I don’t really have a secret other than this: breastfeeding didn’t work out for me so I pumped and gave him bm in a bottle. What I would do is pump ahead and then he would drink his bottle while I pumped. I would set Luke in his bouncy right next to me and prop his bottle up with a blanket. Now I’m done pumping and he gets formula but he got so used to eating his bottle that way that he won’t let me or anyone hold him while he drinks it. He prefers it that way so while he’s eating or napping, I run around crazy and do stuff. I’m not sure it’s the right way but that’s what he prefers and it works for us. If he’s not eating or napping and I have to get stuff done I bring him in his bouncy to the room I’m in, or I lay out a blanket and lay him on it. I talk to him and get all animated about what I’m doing or I make up songs about what I’m doing and he thinks that’s the greatest.

    That’s pretty much it. And this comment is long enough! I’m glad you found my blog!! Have a great day! :)

  3. I don’t think it is unreasonable for you to want to stay home with your child. Most people understand that – it is hard to travel on Christmas with kids, not to mention a baby! I think it will all work out once you get used to the new ways.

    I love that picture.

Leave a Reply

