hold the beans

I don’t think I’ve ever posted a recipe I like or love on here and although I have a deadline that I still have to make today and a currently sleeping kid, I shouldn’t really be on here, but having had my lunch just now, I had to share one of my favorite recipes for one of my favorite things to have on a cold, cold day (which would be today).  Or a cold, cold night: chili!

Some people like her, some people don’t.  I do and I love the whole 30-minute thing.  So this is a Rachael Ray favorite of mine.

And if you like beans in your chili? Add them, but the original recipe doesn’t call for them and that’s just fine by our family!

From Classic Rachael Ray 30-Minute Meals (the one where “Yum-O!” is written across her bust on the cover–who thought that was a good idea?  : )  ):

Cajun Chili

1.5 lbs lean ground pork

1 tablespoon Mexican chili powder (any chili powder will do)

1 tablespoon ground cumin

4 shakes cayenne pepper sauce (I use tabasco and no, this won’t make it too spicy)

1/2 medium yellow onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 rib celery, chopped

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1/2 green bell pepper, chopped

1/2 bottle of beer (have used it with and without and both are good!)

1 (14 oz) can crushed tomatoes

handful cilantro, chopped

Kosher salt, to taste

Heat large pot suitable for chili/soup, etc., over medium-high or high heat (I do medium so the meat doesn’t stick to bottom and burn).  Dump pork in and season with chili powder, cumin, and cayenne sauce.  Brown 5 minutes.

Add onion, garlic, celery, and peppers.  Cook, shaking pan now and then for 3-4 minutes so that veggies get soft.

Add beer if you are using it.  Stir bits from bottom of pot and stir in tomatoes and cilantro.  Add your salt after bringing to a boil.

We add Monterey Jack cheese on top after serving hot in bowls.  Cut up avocado and serve tortilla chips and/or bread to dip in as an added touch.

It’s even better the next day.  I’ve never made it with beans and I’ve never thought it was missing anything.

Yummy!

One thought on “hold the beans

  1. Yum-o! :) This recipe does sound really good. Nice too that it’s pretty simple. I love the kind of recipes where you chop a bunch of stuff and throw it in a pot and out comes something delicious!

Leave a Reply

